Pâte brisée

IMAG0396

I found the perfect recipe for the base of a tart! It’s called pate brisee and I was so shocked that it turn out very beautifully! I had no problem preparing it and didn’t tumble down on my hands as I made it!
I have not a so good mixer, I hope to get one really soon! So, in most cases I prefer to use my hands and I’m pretty sure, that the approved method is by hand!

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp sugar
1 cup unsalted cold butter, cut into small pieces
1/4 – 1/2 cup ice water

Just add all the ingredients but the water in a bowl and try to unify them. Just press the butter through your fingers and you will get a sand like thing. Pour little by little the water until it develops in a dough that isn’t sticking in your fingers and you can roll into a ball!
Place it covered in the fridge for at least an hour. This quantity is perfect for my IKEA tart base. Like all tarts, I make them here! I don’t know what a 9” base is or looks like, but I bet is a lot smaller than mine!

Leave a Reply

