Irish soda bread

IMAG0416

Why I am fascinated with foreign countries pastry is a mystery to me! I grow up with a mother that did a very standard version foods and no baking at all. I remember as a child that she occasionally made fruit cakes and only if we had visitors. I always was jealous when I visited other people’s homes and their mothers made all beautiful creations! I love baking and since I finally got a proper mixer I will make more baking than ever! My husband complains, go figure, that I always try different recipes and I never repeat myself! I’ve been fortune enough to travel in a few countries abroad and I have enjoyed their pastry! Never been to Ireland and I want my first trip abroad with my husband to be in Dublin! So, as a way to remind him I made this bread that has one of my favourite ingredient in baking, buttermilk! It’s a bit different as a bread, with a very distinct taste but I like it!

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup self raising flour
2 Tbsp granulated sugar
3 tbsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp table salt
2 Tbsp unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
I know, if you look at the ingredients , it says soda bread and I have not use any soda, but I can explain! The recipe said cream of tartar and I just couldn’t find it so I used instead baking powder! In the internet it says that if the recipe has soda and tartar, you can easily replace it with baking powder!
Mix all the dry ingredients and try to incorporate the butter cold with the flour. Then add the buttermilk but try not to over mix the ingredients, otherwise the bread will become very tough and compact…
Create a round shape with the dough and carve a cross on top with a knife. Bake in 180 celcius for 40 minutes or until it becomes brown on top!
Please, enjoy!
IMAG0417

3 thoughts on “Irish soda bread

  1. Gorgeous!!!
    My beer bread is in the oven baking right now!! My mouth is watering looking at your pictures.

Leave a Reply

