Challah bread

IMAG0420
Ok, at some point my husband is complaining that I spend too much time thinking what to cook next. But even he can’t deny that he likes the outcome! I was baby sitting my nephew the other day and my sister in law had this book for the 101 foods that someone has to try at least once and had all this crazy categories. One of them was regarding breads! So, I wrote down the names of the breads and I try to find the best recipes for them! So stick with me, I have a few more to try!
When I first saw the challah bread, I thought it was like our own sweet bread but my brother informed me that it just a fancy fluffy bread for Sabbath and that you eat it with your meal. Also I was pronouncing it wrong! Go figure! That little incident didn’t stop me from making the bread!
I didn’t braid it properly! I did only three stripes, although it looked very pretty with 6 braids! Very easy to make, although I had a mishap! I run out of all purpose flour, and I used instead bread flour. Nice tasty, my sister in law told me it resembles the ones in Israel but it wasn’t fluffy and that is the trademark of the bread!
So, next time I will try it again, more strict to the directions!
2 tsp bread yeast
1 cup tepid water
4 – 4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup white granulated sugar
2 tsp salt
2 large eggs
1 large egg yolk (reserve the white for the egg wash)
1/4 cup vegetable oil

As in all breads, mix the yeast with the tepid water and the sugar. Wait to foam for 5 minutes! In the mean while, combine the dry ingredients in a bowl and then add the other ingredients! At the end, add the yeast watery thing and knead until you can make a ball with the dough! Leave it to rest until it doubles it size.
When it’s ready, separate into 3 (or if you are brave 6) strings and braid tight the bread as you do your hair! Let it rest for about an hour and then brush the bread with the remaining egg white. At this point, you can add poppy seeds or sesame if you like! Bake it in 190 degrees for half an hour, or until it becomes brown on the top! Let it cool down and eat!
Please, enjoy!
IMAG0421

3 thoughts on “Challah bread

Leave a Reply

