Apple Butter

IMAG0438
I can’t remember where I first read about apple butter, probably somewhere about slow cooker recipes. It looked so pretty! Also, it looked so interesting and complicated at first and I decided I had to try it!
Of course when I did it, I had to explain to other people what it was and end up telling them is like a jam! I don’t think anyone is going to eat it, I gave them away anyway!
At the end it’s supper easy and not time consuming at all!I used 2 kilos of red apples. Normally, it says to use different varieties to get different kind of sweetness for the different apples! Do not use green apples, I used the ones I found at the market!
I found it idiotic to use any kind of sugar become the apples are going to get caramelized and become sweeter than ever! I didn’t use any kind of liquid as well, although I was afraid that the apples were going to stick at the bottom of the slow cooker but they didn’t!
I just used my thingy from IKEA to slice the apples from the core, I didn’t peel them I just washed them before hand. I let them cooking for 9 hours. When it was morning, I used my hand blender and make them a mush! I used 2 tsp of ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of ground clove and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg! I let them simmer for 45 minutes, or until a wooden spoon can stay standing!
IMAG0436
If you leave it more, the apple will reduce and become thicker, if you prefer it! From 2 kilos of apples, I got 5 jars, which I now have none!
IMAG0441
Very nice gift idea, I don’t know a lot of people that have tried it but it’s a classic taste! Apple and cinnamon are best friends always!

Leave a Reply

