Soft pretzels

IMAG0473
In my house, when it rains, it pours! Either I won’t bake anything for 5 days or I will do everything ib a matter of hours!
My latest obsession is this recipe I found for soft pretzels!
I have made so often the last month, that I learned it by heart! For such a new recipe, it took me no time to learn it! It has to do though that my husband is eating them almost 6 pieces in a day!
What you will need is:
2 packs of dry yeast
2 cups of warm full fat milk
6 tbsp light brown sugar
4 tbsp room temperature butter
5 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp salt

As you have imagined by now, dissolve the yeast in the warm milk, not hot, it will kill the yeast and will not become frothy!
Add the sugar and wait for 5-10 minutes until the yeast is ready! Add the butter and one cup of sifted flour to create a doughy mixture! Add the salt and the the rest of the flour!
The dough must be a bit firm, not very sticky! You can add bit by bit extra flour until you fill the dough silky and firm in your fingers!
Let it rest for an hour, if you poke it, and your fingers imprint stays, then it is ready! Punch down and the divide the dough in 12 parts!My oven in very small and I can cook only 6 pretzels at a time, so put in a pan water and 1/3 cup baking soda and bring it to a boil.
On the same time, give shape to the pretzels, I almost never get the thin pretzels that I supposedly will get as the ones in the pretty pictures, but at least at they are tasty!
Dive the pretzel one at a time for less than a minute to the water and place them on the tray. Leave enough space for it will raise still! sprinkle coarse salt on top if you like! I don’t think it is necessary for this recipe, but try it!
Proceed with 6 at a tray and bake them for 17-18 minutes in high oven! Let them cool and please enjoy!
They are fluffy even the next day for some reason! Fill free to make them also different shapes and use them as buns for sandwich or rolls for dinner!

IMAG0471My pretzels with some cupcakes, I will upload the recipe next! One is missing because I had no patience and I had to eat it! They smell that good!

One thought on “Soft pretzels

Leave a Reply

