Greek Pitas

IMAG0002
As always, I was browsing pinterest and I noticed a recipe for pita bread! It has very few ingredients and I couldn’t believe it that this was actually the recipe. I gave it a shot and I was shocked!It totally works!
My main problem with pitas are that if I buy them from the counter, they have a very strict expiration date and I have thrown out quite a few. If I buy them frozen, they are dry as wood and they break when you try to bend them!
So I made them, and made a Greek souvlaki from scratch! Much cheaper from top to bottom! My husband’s favorite junk food (and unfortunately, food altogether)!

Ingredients
1 packet yeast
1 cup lukewarm water
pinch of salt
2 1/2 -3 cups of ap flour

Like always, mix the water with the yeast. Let it foam for 5 minutes, and then add the flour, salt and the yeast water in the mixer’s bowl! Use 2 1/2 cups of the flour, if still not firm just add little by little. Knead until firm ball forms and let it rest for an hour.
Part the dough in 8 pieces. Use flour to open the dough into a plate like shape with the help of a rolling pin. It doesn’t have to be perfect! Make it flat enough, not thick!Take a napkin and use a few drops of olive oil to brush the pan before using it!Use a skillet or a pan, hot enough. Place the dough in the skillet and wait! In a minute you will see that it will start make bubbles, like pancakes! That’s the cue! Turn to the other side and let it cook for a minute or 2! You can make the 8 disks before a hand or make one while the other one is cooking!Use the same napkin to clean the pan before baking the new pita, because the flour leaves residues and it will burn and blacken the next pita.
In about 30 minutes you will have 8 pitas to use as suited! If you won’t eat them all, place them in freezer because after a couple of hours they are uneatable for my likes!
Enjoy!

IMAG0001

Leave a Reply

