Ice cream season!

No pictures for this post, I don’t read posts without pictures, so why would you?  But my husband bought me a waffle iron and an ice cream maker a few months ago, an early birthday gift! I turned 31 last week and just a year ago my life was in a different state of mind.. Regarding many things, including food and cooking! In the last year I’m acknowledged as the lady that cooks good but makes great desserts and breads. It’s a compliment, at least I do something nice! And so can a lot of people, as long as they follow through the recipes exactly as they are written, for desserts at least!
I’ve been making all kinds of ice creams, my downfall is my husband is really stubborn about trying different kinds of ice cream flavors. He likes chocolate ice cream, for real. And only chocolate. I made him try chocolate chocolate chips ice cream and stracciatella . Liked it but ate like a scoop. Yoghurt ice cream, didn’t even wanted to see it! I wanted to try a peanut butter chocolate ice cream recipe but he told me that he would probably try a bit on a spoon. Why would I make a liter of ice cream to eat it alone in such a hot weather? So, I think I have perfected the chocolate ice cream recipe, both vegan and dairy!

Vegan Chocolate Ice cream
2 cans of coconut milk (or a can of coconut cream /a can of coconut milk) not light
3/4 cups cocoa powder
1/2 cup of powder sugar
Mixed all the ingredients in a bowl until they smell delicious, like chocolate milk! Pour the mixture in an ice cream maker and in 20 minutes, your ice cream is ready! Place the ice cream in a designed for ice cream vessel, not the bowl of the maker! It will be soft but you have to place it for 2 hours in the freezer. Perfect consistency, afterwards it will be rock hard and you will have to thing ahead, 20 minutes before serving it leave it outside or better, half an hour in the refrigerator

I will be a godmother! One of my best friends is pregnant with her first child and we are in the stage that she has to eat according exactly as the doctor prescribes! So, I’m making her all kind of ice creams, only not custard base (no eggs) for a non processed lifestyle. I discovered that sicilian ice cream has no eggs but corn flour to keep it together and just plain milk, no heavy cream so if you got goat milk or good quality full fat milk (other than store bought) then you must definitely have to try it!

Sicilian Chocolate Ice cream
3 cups of full fat milk (appr.700 ml)
1 cup of white sugar
3/4 cups dutch processed cocoa
1 1/2 tbsp corn flour
Pour in a pan the 2 cups of milk and heat it, stir the dry ingredients and let it intermix!Then add the last cup of milk and stir again! Leave the mixture on a bowl and let it cool normally. When the the mixture is cold, place it on the fridge for a full night!
Then do the same as above! Very tasty and milky!
Please, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

